Servant Scholars

The Servant Scholars program was created in 2009 as a response to the desire to more deeply serve the Greenville community. Each summer, up to 10 students live together in Vista House while interning at poverty-alleviating organizations in the upcountry of South Carolina. Because this work can be challenging, the added support of living with other people who are serving in similar ways creates a deeply empathetic environment, as well as encourages thoughtful conversation about the plethora of problems that plague our society.

 

In addition to both serving in an internship capacity and living in intentional Christian community, this program also contains an academic component. Students are required to read portions of a book every week, as well as to write a journal entry that synthesizes their experiences at their internships, in the Vista House community, and the wisdom of the author of the week. On Wednesday nights, a guest is invited to come and eat dinner with the Servant Scholars and discuss the intersection of service, religion and academia. These honored guests will be non-profit directors, religious leaders, or University professors.


Placement Opportunities

GAIHN: Greenville Area Interfaith Hospitality Network

contact: Rev. Tony McDade (tonymcdade@cs.com)

United Ministries

contact: Rev. Beth Templeton (btempleton@united-ministries.org)

YouthBASE

contact: Linda Tassie (ltassie@youth-base.org)

Greenville Literacy Association

contact: Janna Lusk (lusk@greenvilleliteracy.org)

Little Steps

contact: Mandy Black (mandy@littlestepssc.org)

North Greenville Food Crisis Ministry

contact: Suzanne Kolb (ngfcministry@gmail.com)

Project Host

contact: Allen Hellenga (afhellenga@gmail.com)

Triune Mercy Center

contact: Rev. Deb Richardson-Moore (deb@triunemercy.org)

Safe Harbor

contact: Rev. Julie Dunson Meredith (julie.meredith@safeharborsc.org)

Just Kids

contact: Justen Thompson (justenthompson@upstatejustkids.com)

St. Francis Bon Secours

Chaplaincy or Community Garden

Frazee Center

A Child's Haven

GOAT: Great Outdoor Adventure Trips

AID Upstate

Foothills Family Resource Center

Miracle Hill/Greenville Rescue Mission

Greenville Free Medical Clinic

South Carolina Legal Service

Greenville County First Steps

Christ Church Missions Team


2015 Servant Scholars